Gun Case

badkarma6

Gents, I am in the market for a new hard-sided gun case for a hunt out west. I was thinking about just ponying up and buying the Pelican case but I've also seen the Apache gun cases at Harbor Freight. They look very similar to Pelican but at half the price. Does anyone own an Apache case? How is it? Along the lines of you pay for what you get, should I just bite the bullet and get the Pelican?

Are you flying out west or driving?

Full disclosure, I have no experience with the Harbor Freight case. But I have made a number of cross-country driving trips with cased long guns (with no damage or incidents to any of them) and I doubt any of my cases are as nice as the Harbor Freight one.

If you flying, then perhaps it's a different analysis.

I have one. It's heavy and seems to be well built. Mine has wheels on one end so you wheel it around. It will hold two Shiloh Sharps with 30 inch barrels without a problem.

Are you flying out west or driving?

Full disclosure, I have no experience with the Harbor Freight case. But I have made a number of cross-country driving trips with cased long guns (with no damage or incidents to any of them) and I doubt any of my cases are as nice as the Harbor Freight one.

If you flying, then perhaps it's a different analysis.
Good question. I’m flying.

I just bought a pelican vault 800 at a smoking deal from my local gun shop. It’s a little heavier (23 lbs)than I wanted but it seems solid and deserving of the high reviews they get.

I have a Pelican and Nanuk double rifle cases. I have flown several times with the Pelican with no issues and the Nanuk is at least as solid. He also carry SKB cases that seem very stout. I look at cases just like insurance.....what is the thing you are protecting worth?

I would buy the pelican myself. Buy once , cry once for me. Good investment and you will probably never need to buy another case in your lifetime.