MT Road Kill Bill

Idaho changed to allow animal salvage last year. The idea of people hitting animals intentionally hasn't been an issue in my area and I haven't heard of it being a problem anywhere else. It seems the people that would hit something on purpose are probably the same as the ones that don't care about hunting regulations in the first place and having people willing to "clean up" saves the game wardens around here some time.

Last edited:
I grew up in NW Montana and in spite of everyone having monster trucks and empty freezers I can't think of anyone intentionally hunting with their vehicle anything larger than a grouse. Funny we are ok with eating beef that has been standing knee deep in crap but eating a deer hit with a car is taboo. I hate to see things go to waste and being an engineer I'm often too practical for some people's taste. However, rest assured if you are over at my house you will be eating elk cut up in the field packed out in sweaty bags and not something I hit with the car ;)

BTW, this passed the House 95 to 3.

I'm sad to say that in my teen years I had several friends that would routinely get drunk and try to hit deer for this very reason. They never got one, but they tried.
I must have hung out with the wrong crowd ;)

I've noticed around Bozeman an elk is lucky to last in the ditch a few hours.

I must have hung out with the wrong crowd ;)

I've noticed around Bozeman an elk is lucky to last in the ditch a few hours.

I used to know an old guy that drove the county snow plow near Big Sky. He always carried a chainsaw in his cab to cut the heads off of bulls he saw road killed. Wonder how many were road killed by his own plow?

It's amazing how bad of shape lots of roadkill ends up being in. Things will often look pretty good on the outside and not so good on inside. For some reason moose seem to end up with a broken pelvis much of the time and that really wrecks things.