Kenetrek Boots

Idaho oufitters wish to expand opportunities

Wally Dog

Has anyone been following the process?
These are my comments after serving on the advisory board.
Your comments are welcomed.
If anyone would like more background on the process pop me a PM
WD

Idaho Fish and Game Commissioners,
I wish to take a moment to make a few comments related to IOGA/IOGALB's interest in expanding outfitted turkey and waterfowl hunting.
I've been a resident of Idaho since 1980. I've hunted waterfowl in Idaho since 1980 and turkeys since 1983 (when I harvested my first gobbler).
I also served on the first "Turkey Task Force" in 1999-2000, and most recently the Advisory Group representing turkey hunters in Idaho.
The position of Idaho's turkey hunters has not changed since 2000 when the most recent scoping was completed.
*We oppose any expansion of Outfitted Turkey and Waterfowl hunting in Idaho.
*Access is what the issue boils down to and if outfitters were to be granted the opportunity the acquire additional leased properties to guide upon, turkey and waterfowl hunters would be displaced.
*To date IOGA has not demonstrated any "need" and in fact available outfitted turkey hunts have been undersubscribed.
*Existing turkey outfitting license holders have not even reported annual harvest data as required in the 2000 Commission agreement.
*IOGALB admittedly has limited funding to enforce current outfitting, where would any additional enforcement monies or manpower come from…Idaho Fish and Game?
*Private landowners that wish to generate wildlife based income from their property have had and would certainly continue to have the opportunity the either charge a trespass fee or consider lease options.
*Outfitted turkey or waterfowl hunting is not the "end all" option for generating wildlife based income on private property and most certainly not a "right".
*Creating a PERMANENT moratorium is the most enforceable and defensible solution for IOGALB.