FWP woes

Ok, I was lazy. Thanks.

Your Helena link didnt have it, but one thing I love about Brett French and the Gazette, is he often has links to documents, so I went to the source to get it. But Hageners response was not there. I had to call and get it, then upload online.

I was not trying to imply you were lazy, this is just how my brain works and research is what I have been doing for over 30 years of my life, its like breathing to me. :) I like to make resources available to the public.

The point of all of this is how much can be done to improve the Montana Block Management Program. Obviously, EQC and a few of their members will use this as another bullet to shoot at the Department.

That being said, the Montana Block management program needs improvement and reform. So much more could be done with the existing funds, in addition to not paying cooperators for lands on which we have already paid for a hunting easement - the big topic of this article.

I hunt all the western states and I have talked to many of the other agencies who have programs similar to the Montana BMP. Most of them started it with the MT BMP as a model to look at. Yet, almost all of them are much further along in creativity than the MT BMP. They all have a better "dollar per acre enrolled" result than Montana.

In my travels, I hunt these public access properties in other states and get to visit with some of those cooperators. My opinion is that some easy no-brainer ideas could be captured from other states who provide a lot of private hunting with less than what Montana spends on their BMP.

Change to Walk-in hunting - For whatever reason, MT does not have much in the way of this idea. In KS, it is all walk-in hunting. In WY, many of their biggest properties enrolled are all "walk-in" hunting. It is easy to see why.