Yeti GOBOX Collection

The 8 Year Wait...

FREAK

2024 is shaping up to be a busy year. I drew the deer tag I’ve been dreaming about since 2008 when I read a couple articles online of some incredible MD bucks harvested in the unit. I somehow beat the odds and drew the tag with 8 points.

Lots of folks on the forum reached out with contacts and information, I really appreciate all the help and feel it’s only fair to keep everyone posted on how the hunt goes.

My hunting buddy drew a great Wyoming type 9 tag with just 3 points in the random! He didn’t check his results thinking there was no way, and the tag eventually showed up in the mail! I was able to make a quick trip to get in on the experience...

My wife and I added our 3rd kid to the mix this spring and with us both working demanding jobs it’s going to be a chore to do my deer tag justice but I’m going to give it hell. I’m used to long days and chaotic schedules, so I’ll make the most of whatever time I get, and I’ll have the biggest sh*t eating grin on my face the entire time I’m out there! No tent shanking, hopefully I can hold out for a good one but no promises!

The plan is to dedicate the first couple weeks of September to my general archery elk tag. Then I’ll transition to helping by budding in Wyoming for a quick 4 day trip Sept 20-23. After that it’ll be local hunts for elk mixed in with a couple extended trips on the deer tag focusing most of my time around the rut. I’ve got the 7th-14 of November blocked out on the calendar but plan to make a few additional trips before.

It'll be a little bit of live updates but mostly after the fact recaps.

Scouting Trip Aug 25th: