Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

School me on compressed loads and Standard Deviation

44hunter45

I've been handloading since 1986. I make beautiful, functional, consistent hunting ammo. I can hit sub-MOA when I pay attention, but it is not target/match quality ammo.
When I was younger it was all about velocity and I stuffed powder in the case until I got pressure. I made a lot of compressed loads.

As I got older, I chose powders that put me at my pressure at a high density, but not compressed. My theory is that variations in individual case volumes are exaggerated as a load nears 100%.
Leaving enough headroom for the variances means fewer fliers. Meaning that even if I weigh all my cases and they are exactly the same. I weigh all my bullets and they are exactly the same. There will still be some loads that fill with powder before others.

Here is the question for you guys that are making single digit SD ammo. Does any of that matter? Is load density that big a factor? Can you achieve small SDs with compressed loads?

Or is it all about super consistent neck tension?

How are you getting super small SDs?

I recommend listening to the Hornady podcast - they have several episodes that dive into what matters and what doesn't, and why what you think you observe may not be solid info.

I get 10 round sub-0.6 MOA groups with double digit SD's. What matters more?

43gr_Load_100ydTunnel.jpg

2640-ish with my 18" barrel + suppressor. Hits 1800fps at 800yds at 5,000' elevation.

2640-ish with my 18" barrel + suppressor. Hits 1800fps at 800yds at 5,000' elevation.
10-4. My Tikka has a 24” barrel and has 143 grain eld-x going 2750 fps. My 142 grain ABLR loads are going 2800 fps. I hope I get to shoot something with these loads this year.

Fill ratio is WAY over considered by lots of people. I don’t like heavily compressed loads and don’t use powders so fast that they have very low fill ratios. Beyond that, fill ratio is a non consideration.